Womens Digestive Solutions

Proven, Cutting Edge Nutrition Tips, Recipes, and Support For Women With Digestive Problems and Flare-ups

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • Womens’ Digestive Relief Expert


    Attention Health Conscious Moms:

    Digestive Pain have you at your wits end?

    Makes you feel exhausted, irritable, and depressed?

    I can help.

    Here, you will discover proven, cutting edge nutrition advice and recipes on how to
    Eliminate Digestive Pain,
    Sleep Soundly,
    Recapture your Pizazz

  • Nutrition Tips For Digestive Relief

    March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Digestive Relief NOW

Yummy Vegan Sunflower Seed Flax Mayonnaise

Posted by Miss Nourish on March 26, 2010

So, you all know by now what a fan of incredible edible pasture fresh eggs I am because of one of my previous posts;  See my post titled “Ultimate Breakfast Food To Combat Stress” if you haven’t read that already.

Last week I was at the farmer’s market in Santa Rosa, California.  I bought some awesome eggs from Hector of Hector’s Honey.  His eggs are divine.  He also makes incredible raw, unprocessed honey- by the way.

I also ran into some new friends, who make this incredible smoked olive oil.  The company is The Smoked Olive Oil Inc, produced by a lovely husband and wife team.  This smoked olive oil is so incredible; there is actually a patent pending.

This olive oil is naturally wood smoked and my favorite flavor that I tried was the “Napa” flavor, which I promptly bought. Chef Paul Schroeder of Monti’s Rotisserie and Bar, Food Network Star Tyler Florence, and Famous Santa Rosa Chef John Ash are now using and endorsing this oil in their restaurants, it is that good!!!

Back to my story…tonight, I had on hand as ingredients for my supper, hector’s eggs and my treasured purchase of “Napa” style smoked olive oil.  And I was CRAVING deviled eggs.

And because I never buy store bought mayonnaise…(most are laden with preservatives and chemicals and the organic ones are made mostly with canola oil, which is NOT a healthy oil, contrary to popular belief)… I always make my own.

So, I thought- let’s make a VEGAN mayonnaise with this awesome smoked olive oil for my “deviled eggs.”

I had never made vegan mayonnaise before, but I gave it my best shot, and I came up with this variation, which uses some of my favorite ingredients:

  • Barlean’s Highest Lignan Flaxseed oil- metabolism boosting, skin glowing, mood and memory enhancing source of nourishing omega 3 fats.
  • Raw, Sunflower Seeds- rich in vitamin E for antioxidant support, and rich in  minerals like calcium, magnesium, and selenium, critical for detoxification.
  • Red Star Brand Nutritional Yeast- rich in B-vitamins, supports our bodies to manage stress
  • Organic, meyer lemons-alkalinizing, detoxifying, tonifying

Vegan Sunflower-Flax Mayonnaise

Makes 1 cup

This mayonnaise has a rich, thick, creamy texture.

It will last 10-12 days in the refrigerator

Ingredients:

¼ cup raw sunflower seeds, soaked over night in pure, filtered water and then drained.

¼ pure, filtered water

1 tsp nutritional yeast

1 whole garlic, peeled and smashed

¼ tsp Himalayan sea salt

1/3 cup barleans highest lignan flaxseed oil

¼ cup cold pressed olive oil

2 ½ Tbsp lemon juice

¼ tsp Bragg’s raw apple cider vinegar

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a food processor or high speed blender, like a Vita Mix.
  2. Blend on high speed until thick and creamy.

Ideas for using:

-Use anywhere you would use mayonnaise.

-Toss it with fresh veggies.

-Use as a dipping sauce for grilled vegetables.

-Thin and use as a salad dressing for leafy greens.

-Doubles as an Alfredo like sauce for gluten free pasta noodles.

-Use as a “gravy” over roasted chicken.

-I personally love using it mashed with hard boiled eggs for an egg

salad mixture.

-Mix in a little paprika for your own nutritious take on deviled eggs.

I encourage you to try this variation- and give me your thoughts and share with me how you used it.  I’d love to know.

To apply for a Free 30-minute Digestive Tune-Up Strategy Session, feel free to go to the page on this blog titled:

Apply for Free Strategy Session and follow the prompts.

Cheers

Miss Nourish


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

